Get a quote

Adrian Flux teams up with Plato and Subaru in BTCC deal

Words by
April 28, 2016
Share this:

“We’ll be winning races soon,” vowed British Touring Car legend Jason Plato, speaking after agreeing a new sponsorship deal with Adrian Flux.

As well as Plato, British champion in 2001 and 2010, the Flux livery will appear on the Silverline BMR Subaru Levorg Sports Tourers driven by another twice champion Colin Turkington, team boss and former superbike racer Warren Scott, and James Cole.

And Plato, who has the most BTCC race wins in history, said the Levorg was so new it had effectively still been in the testing phase in the first two rounds of the 2016 season.

Jason Plato

Jason Plato

“I haven’t been in race mode yet, because there’s no point until we get the car right, but by race weekend four I’m confident we’ll be right up there,” he added.

“The ability to position the flat-four boxer engine, unique in the championship, so low and so far back in the engine bay will give us a huge roadholding advantage when we have the set up for the straight line speed as we want it.”

It’s Subaru’s debut season in the BTCC, and Adrian Flux general manager Gerry Bucke said it was a great opportunity to join an exciting project with two former champions at the wheel.

Jason Plato Subaru Levorg

Jason Plato in the Flux-sponsored Subaru at Donington

“It’s great to be in at the beginning of Subaru’s involvement in touring cars, and given their incredible track record of rallying success we’re confident they’ll make a real impact, especially with such great drivers at the helm,” he added.

“We already sponsor the speedway British Grand Prix at Cardiff and the Adrian Flux Arena, home of the King’s Lynn Stars Elite League team, and we’re excited at extending our involvement in motorsport into a competition as popular and enduring as the BTCC.”

Plato added: “I’m delighted to be working with Adrian Flux, who have always provided cover for the sort of cars I love to drive, and I’m confident we’ll be giving them something to cheer very soon.”

The next round of the championship is at Thruxton on May 8, screened live on ITV4.

Related Articles

Get a free insurance quote for your vehicle

Get a Free Quote